PDA

View Full Version : Range.find

claudia
12-04-2008, 05:23 AM
Hello,

I am not an experienced programmer but I am trying to write a VBA Excel macro to find a certain value in a range of cells and copy it to another cell in a different worksheet.
I found the following problem: Once you enter a value, if there is no such value in the range of cells, there is an error message from the compiler and the macro run is interrupted. The find command line I am using is:

Range("A10:A34").Find(What:=VlrNominal).Activate
t = ActiveCell.Value

where VlrNominal receives an input value from the user and variable t stores it.

Is there another way to look for a cell value avoiding this problem?
Please check if the above information is enough.
Thank you for your help.
Claudia

Bob Phillips
12-04-2008, 06:43 AM
On Error Resume Next
Set cell = Range("A10:A34").Find(What:=VlrNominal)
On Error Goto 0
If Not cell Is Nothing Then

t = cell.Value
End If

mdmackillop
12-04-2008, 06:46 AM
Dim t As Range
Set t = Range("A10:A34").Find(What:=vlrNominal)
If Not t Is Nothing Then
t.Copy Sheets(2).Range("A1")
End If

xluser2007
12-04-2008, 05:27 PM
On Error Resume Next
Set cell = Range("A10:A34").Find(What:=VlrNominal)
On Error Goto 0

t = cell.Value
End If

Bob,

Just to learn from this thread, I was testing this out as follows:

Option Explicit
Sub test()

Dim cell As Range
Dim t

On Error Resume Next
Set cell = Range("A1:A10").Find(What:="peace")
On Error GoTo 0

t = cell.Address
Debug.Print t

End If

End Sub
As such could you explain the On error aprts.

That the On Error Resume Next tells it move to the next line of nothing is found. The On Error GoTo 0 clears all errors (is this right?). Then you re-test whether

Why are the 2 error check's Bob? And not Just use the If Not Cell is Nothing?

Also How would you get the macro to loop through and find all possible occurrences of peace and print them in the loop - the FIND seems to pick up only the first one?

regards,

Bob Phillips