PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Merge cells with alive data & seprators

ilyaskazi
03-21-2005, 03:23 AM
I want to merge cells with alive data and seprator as colon ";"

See Attachments..

Output should be as given in Blue box...

ilyas kazi.

ilyaskazi
03-21-2005, 06:58 AM
can somebody help me....: pray2: : pray2: : pray2:

Tinku
03-21-2005, 08:49 AM
Hi.. I am a newbie too but have you tried concatenate()..

I think it shuld work for you.

Regards

Tinku

Anne Troy
03-21-2005, 10:50 AM
Try this:
http://www.tushar-mehta.com/excel/software/text_write_program/text_write_program.zip (http://www.tushar-mehta.com/excel/software/text_write_program/text_write_program.zip)

See sheet2!

mdmackillop
03-21-2005, 12:09 PM
How about a simple UserDefinedFunction (UDF), Paste the following code in a standard module and enter =DoMerge(A1:A4) in a cell on your worksheet. See the yellow cells in the attachment.

Function DoMerge(Target As Range)
Dim mrg As String, cel
mrg = ";"
For Each cel In Target
mrg = mrg & cel & "; "
Next cel
DoMerge = mrg
End Function

ilyaskazi
03-21-2005, 08:29 PM
hi mdmackillop,

Ur solution is good and seems to be working fine only with the workbook which u provided. I need this code to be written in the Personal.xls book (excel startup file).

I hv tried this entering the domerge formula but no output came.

help..

Zack Barresse
03-21-2005, 10:03 PM
Hi,

If the UDF is already in you Personal.xls file, then you can still call it, just make sure you type in where it's located ...

=Personal.xls!DoMerge(A1)

.. change out A1 for your reference.

ilyaskazi
03-22-2005, 01:25 AM
thanku firefytr, its working... Good.

I m calling this through vba now for which i hv created shortcut in toolbar. For this shortcut now I need to put formula for active cell in which output must come.

How to get selected ranges (i.e.data to manipulate) and to put formula for the output cell (i.e.active cell)???

mdmackillop
03-22-2005, 01:36 AM