PDA

View Full Version : Objects in Powerpoint

nbqleebarnes
12-15-2008, 12:52 AM
Hi All,
I have tried posting this question in the powerpoint forum, but I didn't get any response all month, so I will try asking this question here.

"I must say I am VERY new to powerpoint and coding, and not much better with Excell.
I have been searching through the forum and I am trying to find out how to make an excell object that I have inserted into powerpoint, openable / useable, without going into an actual presentation, ie, working from the normal view. This is however with the powerpoint presentation being protected for read only status."

Thanks
Lee

JimmyTheHand
12-16-2008, 03:12 PM
Hi Lee,

I'm willing to try myself with this. You need to know that coding PowerPoint is an unknown field to me, too, but I need to learn because my current project involves creating a PowerPoint slide by running VBA code in Excel. I'm almost sure we can make something out of your project as well. I don't promise anything, mind you, but we can give it a try. Agreed?

If so then please give me some more details about what you want to do. An attached document, spiced with some explanation would help me a lot to understand.

Jimmy

nbqleebarnes
12-16-2008, 10:51 PM
Hi Jimmy,
Thanks for your interest in this little project of mine. I have attached an example of what the powerpoint project would have.
I have made the powerpoint file a read only file, password is "user" but if you open the zip file you will see the powerpoint file and an excell file of which I have inserted a link into the powerpoint slide.
What I am trying to do is make the link to the excell file be able to open in normal view in the powerpoint file while the powerpoint is in read only mode.
I hope this makes sense.
Thanks
Lee

JimmyTheHand
12-17-2008, 12:44 AM
Looks like quite the challenge...

Anyway, I need to be clear on some things.
1. You want