PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Copy VBA code from ws to ws on insert...

zzmgd6
12-19-2008, 02:51 PM
Greetings,

i be new here.
need a little help please.
I have a workbook with a master sheet with vba code, how may I copy this vba code to a newly inserted sheet when a user interactively inserts a new worksheet?
what I have gives me two sheets, one that is a copy of the master with the code and just another new sheet without the code.

thank you for any help.

regards.

Demosthine
12-19-2008, 03:32 PM
Good Evening.

In general, it becomes a little complicated to "insert code" through VBA because the VBE Environment is not fully trusting. Macros can be very volatile, so it's very restricted.

I did say restricted, though, not impossible. But to give you the easiest method... Are you the only person who will be utilizing this Workbook or will it be distributed to others?

The easiest method for copying the code is to copy the entire Worksheet using the Copy method on the Master Sheet.

Take care.
Scott

zzmgd6
12-19-2008, 04:29 PM
Scott,

thanks for the reply.

No, this wokbook will be distributed and multiple "save as" copies will be used globally. The code I have working within the ThisWorkbook is as follows...

Private Sub Workbook_NewSheet(ByVal Sh As Object)

Worksheets("Master").Copy after:=Worksheets(Worksheets.Count)

End Sub

the problem is this creates a copy of the Master with the code, but because it is within the Workbook_NewSheet function, I also get another new worksheet. Is there a way to prevent this additional worksheet from being created and only execute the Copy function?

Thanks.

Regards.

Demosthine
12-19-2008, 04:44 PM
Evening again.

You are on the right track. The key to what you want to do is the Argument for the Event. The Sh Object enables you to access the new Worksheet that is created by default.

Private Sub Workbook_NewSheet(ByVal Sh As Object)
' Disable the Applications Alerts. If you do not disable