PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Disable X and Stop Shutdown

EricM
03-22-2005, 02:51 PM
High everyone,
I am new to this and would like to know if this is even possible.
I am trying to disable the x button in a Citrix ICA Window. I would like to do this on client side but if need be I can put something in the users termserv login script or even run something on the server.

Secondly I would like to be able to check to see if a Citrix Client is running if someone tries to shutdown or logoff the local pc. If Citrix is running then I would like it to pause the shutdown and inform the user to log out of Citrix. This would be on the same principal when you have a Office App open when trying to shutdown. The proccess stops and tells you to close the Office app first.

The first one I have tried using the different snipplets (if that is the correct term) found on the web and using a FindWindow Function and that didn't work. I used the code from the MSDN site (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;818361) as a guide to disabling the close button.

If this is possible could someone please guide me in the right direction.

Right now from trying this using the code above I believe the problem is that I cannot control a menu item on a window that is not created by script. In other words because the Citrix Window is created befor or after the script runs it cannot modify the menu. I am thinking I need to open the Citrix window from within the module itself to accomplish this.

Ken Puls
03-22-2005, 03:13 PM
Hi Eric,

A couple of questions for you.. Are you the systems administrator on your Citrix server?

Rather than spend the time trying to work this out, why not just set the properties of the Citrix connection so that when a client disconnects their session (either via the X or by shutting down their PC), it is automatically disconnected, or disconnected after about 15 minutes.

I've found that the above works very well without having to code anything.