PDA

View Full Version : 100 tables in Word

ReneY
12-22-2008, 07:54 AM
Hi everyone!

I'm in a big problem, I'm an intermediate programmer and I've been assigned to a huge task regarding VBA, Word and 100 tables.... let me explain a bit further:

I work in a big company and the department where I work offers about 500 products, all this products are placed in one single Word 2003 file, the file itself is 30 pages long, and divides the 500 products in different groups by tables, there are tables with only 2 rows and there are tables with up to 18 rows; each one of the rows has the product description and a checkbox. Alltogether there are 100 tables of products. Once a salesperson sells a product (or several) this big file is handed to both the customer and the production department with the sold/bought product's checkbox checked.... the problem arises when the customer buys only ONE product of the 500 hundred, both the customer and the production department still get the 30 pages only with one product highlighted, so its a bit of a hazle sometimes to even find the product that has been sold in this 30 pages. The idea of this program is to simplify the handling of the Product Specification Sheet (that's how the file is called) and to be able to easily see which products are of relevance to the seller/buyer in a couple pages instead of seeing ALL products EVERY time and have to go through ALL the 30 pages....

What I've done is to program all the checkboxes and a toggle button, when it is active all the rows/checkboxes that are not checked are hidden, and if the toggle button is unactive, then all rows all visible again.

Here's an example of the first table (that actually works great)

'******TABLE1*********
If ToggleButton1.Value = True Then
If ActiveDocument.CheckBox1.Value = False Then
ActiveDocument.Tables(1).Rows(1).Range.Font.Hidden = True
End If
If ActiveDocument.CheckBox2.Value = False Then
ActiveDocument.Tables(1).Rows(2).Range.Font.Hidden = True
End If