PDA

View Full Version : Syntax error after compiling

anik18
12-29-2008, 12:06 AM
I tried to enter the code below in VBA excel 2003. I filled this module section and there was an error after compiling. The error said "Syntax error". Plz help me how to fix it and i am new to VBA so i am learning how to do it. Thanking you.

Sub CubeRoot()
Num = InputBox(“Enter a positive number”)
MsgBox Num ^ (1/3) & “ is the cube root.”
End Sub

Edit Lucas: VBA tags added to code. Anik, when you post code...select it and hit the vba button to format it for the forum.

lucas
12-29-2008, 12:05 PM
Try it like this:

Option Explicit
Sub CubeRoot()
Dim Num As Integer
Num = InputBox("Enter a positive number:", "Inputbox")
MsgBox Num * (1 / 3) & " is the cube root."
End Sub

lucas
12-29-2008, 12:11 PM
Thread moved to appropriate forum.

CreganTur
12-30-2008, 08:55 AM
Sub CubeRoot()
Num = InputBox(“Enter a positive number”)
MsgBox Num ^ (1/3) & “ is the cube root.”
End Sub

Welcome to the forum- it's always good to see new members.

As Lucas pointed out, the syntax error should occur because you never declared the variable Num that you are using.

Always Dim a variable before you use it- this create the variable and prepares it to be used. This is also where you declare what data type you want the variable to hold.

Also, you should notice in Lucas' code that there is an extra delcaration: Option Explicit. This forces you to declare all of your variables by throwing an error whenever you try to use an undeclared variable. This is a very, very good thing that will keep you from making some crippling mistakes. To be sure this is on, go into your VBIDE. Click on Tools->Options, and make sure that "Require Variable Declaration" has a check mark next to it.

HTH:thumb

anik18
12-30-2008, 03:04 PM