PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Filling missing data from a table based on criteria

changeable
03-22-2005, 11:32 PM
Hi,I am a beginner in excel VBA and this job is really hard for me. I wish i can get help from those have lots of experience in VBA. i have attached the picture file as well as 2 excel file for my problem here. Please help me, it is really urgent. Thank you all!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v232/skyearth/Excel/replace.jpg

changeable
03-25-2005, 07:28 AM
can anyone help me on this problem?please? the replaced value should be highlighted too. is it because my question is not clear?

the attachment is the related file which i have mentioned.

changeable
03-28-2005, 07:26 AM
still cannot be done? can somebody show me some of the way? Thanks again

MWE
03-28-2005, 06:42 PM
This does not look too difficult. Let me look at the files you have posted and I will get back to you tomorrow.

MWE
03-28-2005, 09:44 PM
I have a possible solution for you.

I copied your original example data into a spreadsheet called SegReplace.xls wrote some code and did some testing. Your original historical_e.xls did not have sufficient data to complete the testing, so I used the Book1.xls data. I made a copy called HistoricalDB.xls and tweaked a few entries to ensure that all three cases you mentioned were tested. HistoricalDB.xls is ~ 2x the size of your original because I made a copy of the original "Historical" sheet. I also added another test line in SegReplace.xls to test the 3rd case, i.e., NA in Historical and not enough data around the hole to use the 3pt moving average. My solution moves down the rows and across the cols. Therefore, the only time you will likely need the "last resort" is when you are trying to fill a hold in the first 1, 2 or 3 cols and the HistoricalDB is NA

In the attached zip file are SegReplace.xls and HistoricalDB.xls. Put them in the same directory, open SegReplace.xls and click on the Yellow button.

A few odds and ends: