PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Lookup and update between two workbooks

m40wen
03-23-2005, 04:37 AM
Hello All

Excuse my (in)ability as I am a real novice, but I guess we all have to start somewhere! Basically I have two worksheets, one that I work on all day another that I get sent to update a certain section. What I would know how to do is lookup references in my main workbook (which I will call workbookm) from my sent one (workbooks), and update 5 cells in workbookm dependent if it satisfies a condition (a stautus on the sent workbook). I therefore am assuming it will be some kind of lookup - IF - update command.

However it gets a little more complicated as the sent workbook are not all for my attention, so every reference has to be looked up in the main spreadsheet, but if it cant be found then to move on to the next reference and so on, though the main workbook should only be updated if the status returned on the sent worksheet is 'prematched' and to ignore others. Further to this, the refernce has an additional amount of numbers attached to it so I must only look at the first ten digits to look up in my main worksheet.

Sorry I know this is abit difficult to follow, but it seems easier to show rather than explain. I have attached an example workbook in the hope that this helps. I know that this is possible, but as I am trying to sprint before I can even stand, I dont know where to start!

acw
03-28-2005, 05:46 PM
Hi

I'm guessing that you are matching the trade_reference from the main sheet (column C) to the client_ref in the sent sheet (column B) and column P in the sent sheet has to be "prematched", but where do the details come from that populate columns Y to AC on the main sheet???

Tony

m40wen
03-29-2005, 12:37 AM
Hi Tony, thanks for the reply