View Full Version : Solved: Passing a module as a parameter
tools
01-12-2009, 03:00 AM
Hi All,
Is it possible to pass a module as a parameter to a function and use it ?
I have attached an excel sheet for the same.
Thanks & Regards
Bob Phillips
01-12-2009, 03:27 AM
Let's take a step back.
What are you trying to achieve?
tools
01-12-2009, 03:52 AM
I want to make a common module which would set some variables.
Now the variables that I am setting could have the same name in multiple modules.
I am trying to do this so that I could refer only the variable in the calling module.
Is there a better solution to this ?
Thanks & Regards
Bob Phillips
01-12-2009, 04:30 AM
I wouldn't use the same name variable in multipl modules. Without knowing the full detail, I wouldprobably create global arrays, and allocate each module a id number into the array.
tools
01-19-2009, 05:12 AM
Consider a case where I am calling web services through my excel add in.
I have 2 modules for 2 different web services.
Each has its own URL which has the same name in both modules.
While sending the data I will call a common function which would decide which URL to set depending on the calling module name.
Is this possible ?
Bob Phillips
01-19-2009, 07:05 AM
I can't say that I am getting it yet, but it seems overly complex to me. Why not assign a value to a variable, different depending upon the service.
Paul_Hossler
01-19-2009, 07:31 AM
In the attached WB there are 2 modules, each with a similarly named sub
The 'main' sub (drv) and it's called private sub might do what you want, at least as a starting point
Option Explicit
Sub drv()
Call CallModule("Module1", "CommonSub")
Call CallModule("Module2", "CommonSub")
Call CallModule("Module1", "CommonSub")
End Sub
Private Sub CallModule(M As String, S As String)
Application.Run (M & "." & S)
End Sub
Paul
tools
01-19-2009, 08:16 PM
Thanks Paul
This is what i wanted :)
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.