PDA

View Full Version : VBA coding to run macro on multiple files

rkc2009
01-13-2009, 06:22 AM
Hey everyone,

I just had a few questions as I am new to VBA on Excel. I need to create a macro that takes data from multiple files and stores the results in a table. The table is in a separate file from the files which the macro operates on and is updated as the macro operates on the said multiple files. I know how to run the code on one worksheet but I am not familiar as to how to run the code on multiple files in one folder and to store the data in a separate table. The table basically represents how many worksheets passed the given test and how many failed. For example, there is a parameter file that says a set of data passes if its above 5 and fails if below 5. I need to create a macro that compares this parameter file with each of the files selected and then updates the pass-fail table in another file. If anything I have said is not crystal clear, leave me a message. I look forward to hearing replies.

Bob Phillips
01-13-2009, 06:28 AM
This loops a folder and opens all files

Dim oFSO

Sub LoopFolders()

Set oFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

selectFiles "c:\MyTest"

Set oFSO = Nothing

End Sub

'---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sub selectFiles(sPath)
'---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dim Folder As Object
Dim Files As Object
Dim file As Object
Dim fldr

Set Folder = oFSO.GetFolder(sPath)

For Each fldr In Folder.Subfolders
selectFiles fldr.Path
Next fldr

For Each file In Folder.Files
If file.Type Like "Microsoft*Excel*Worksheet*" Then
Workbooks.Open Filename:=file.Path
'do stuff
Activeworkbook.Close SaveChanges:=False
End If
Next file

End Sub

rkc2009
01-13-2009, 06:42 AM