PDA

View Full Version : export records to txt file conditional on two fields

Thepnr
01-15-2009, 09:42 AM
MS Access 2003

Hello All

I'm new to databases and have a problem that I'd appreciate your help on. I have a large database table with results of matches between players in chess tournaments over a number of years. I would like to split this table and export to individual delimited text files as follows.

There are 5 fields for each record, namely:

ID_1 (player 1)
ID_2 (player 2)
Name (Tournament name)
Type (Type of game, e.g blitz, bullet, rapid and normal.)
Date (Date of tournament in the format yy/mm/dd).

I would like to read the table and export ID_1 and ID_2 i.e. fields 1 and 2 to a text file for individual tournaments. So all records with the same tournament name AND date are from a single tournament and are to be exported to a new file.

The newly created file is to be exported to a folder that is based on game type i.e. field 4, the game type is always the same for any individual tournament and their are 4 game types.

Finally the file name that the data is to be exported to is the date and name of the individual tournament i.e. field 5 and 3. For example:

09/01/15_Tournament Name (a tournament played on 15th Jan 2009)

On a successful run I would now have 4 folders in the specified path named blitz, bullet, rapid and normal. Each folder containing files named as in the format above, and each file having the results of matches in the form of players ID's.

Thank you for reading and I greatly appreciate any input you may have.

Alex

CreganTur
01-15-2009, 09:51 AM
Welcome to the forum- always good to have new members!

The following code example shows how you can query results from a table using and ADO (ActiveX Data Objects) connection. It then takes the resultant recordset and exports it as a text file to a designated folder:

Sub GetRecordsAsString()
Dim conn As ADODB.Connection
Dim rst As ADODB.Recordset
Dim varRst As Variant
Dim fso As Object