PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with vlookup

niyrho
01-19-2009, 04:57 PM
I'm trying to use the private sub "change" with vlookup. I want it to, whenever I type in a certain cell, to find the closest match from a list on another sheet.

Havent gotten far at all on this. The book I got gives examples on the to use those functions for something different and I think its leading me in the wrong direction.

stanleydgrom
01-19-2009, 05:03 PM
niyrho,

Please explain in more detail.

And, please post your workbook - scroll down, and see "Manage Attachments".

Have a great day,
Stan

mdmackillop
01-19-2009, 05:03 PM
Can you post sample data so we can see what you are comparing? Please include your code attempts.

niyrho
01-20-2009, 02:38 AM
The problem is that I'm pretty new to this stuff. I didn't go to school for it or anything. I'm self edgucated. I just can't learn from a book. If I can see something I can pick it apart, then I know how it works.

I guess I could post the workbook, but there'd be no point. It's blank right now. How I build this thing will depend on what I get figured out. I'll give ya an example of the code I tried, but I'm sure I'm way off.

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Address = "A1" then
WorksheetFunction.VLookup("A1", Range("B1:C10"),2,false)
End Sub

Thats all I had. Just trying to get it to work to figure out how it works. After I do that, then I'll be able to apply it elsewhere. Otherwise, I'll just find another way around it.

Aussiebear
01-20-2009, 03:16 PM
I think you should be using a Worksheet_SelectionChange event rather than a Worksheet_Change, based on your first post.

Simon Lloyd
01-20-2009, 03:26 PM
The problem is that I'm pretty new to this stuff. I didn't go to school for it or anything. I'm self edgucated. I just can't learn from a book. If I can see something I can pick it apart, then I know how it works.