PDA

View Full Version : Macro to Protect formula cells

ksquirt
01-20-2009, 09:50 AM
I am pretty new to writing macros. I have seen numerous codes to do part of this, but they don't work. I need to (I think) unlock all the cells without a formula and then protect the sheet without a password. I have numerous sheets in each workbook. Please help!

ksquirt
01-20-2009, 10:18 AM
I finally found one that worked!! Thanks for viewing!

Private Sub Workbook_SheetSelectionChange(ByVal Sh As Object, ByVal Target As Range) Dim formula As Range
On Error Resume Next
Sh.Unprotect Password:="password"
With Selection
.Locked = False
.FormulaHidden = False
End With
If Target.Cells.Count = 1 Then
If Target.HasFormula Then
With Target
.Locked = True
.FormulaHidden = True
End With
Sh.Protect Password:="password", UserInterFaceOnly:=True
End If
ElseIf Target.Cells.Count > 1 Then
Set formula = Selection.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeFormulas)
If Not formula Is Nothing Then
With Selection.SpecialCells(xlCellTypeFormulas)
.Locked = True
.FormulaHidden = True
End With
Sh.Protect Password:="password", UserInterFaceOnly:=True
End If
End If
On Error GoTo 0
End Sub

Instructions: (I tried to post the link, but my post count is at 2...)

lucas
01-20-2009, 10:22 AM
Welcome to the forum ksquirt. Glad you figured this out and shared your solution. You can mark your thread solved using the thread tools at the top of the page.

ksquirt
01-20-2009, 10:30 AM
I did try to mark it solved, but now I have a problem with it. My macros won't run. It does have UserInterFaceOnly:=True, so I'm not sure what the issue is.

lucas
01-20-2009, 12:02 PM
It works if you put it in the thisworkbook module and move the dim statement down to the next line...dim formula as range on second line.

lucas
01-20-2009, 12:04 PM
I need to (I think) unlock all the cells without a formula and then protect the sheet without a password

you are using the password "password" in the code above....

ksquirt
01-20-2009, 12:10 PM