PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Manage similar events with textboxes

nst1107
02-03-2009, 09:18 AM
I'm trying to use Bob's class module example (http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24799) to handle a large number of textboxes on a userform. I'm having trouble with the _Enter() _Exit() events. I've changed
Public WithEvents mButtonGroup As MSForms.CommandButtontoPublic WithEvents mButtonGroup As MSForms.TextBoxbut the events don't appear in the class module.

I've never used class modules before, so I have little understanding of how they work. Is there a way to capture the _Enter() _Exit() events using Bob's method?

CreganTur
02-03-2009, 09:45 AM
You have to write in the events you want, they do not appear on their own.

Private Sub mButtonGroup_Enter()
'stuff to do
End Sub
Private Sub mButtonGroup_Exit()
'stuff to do
End Sub

HTH:thumb

nst1107
02-03-2009, 10:02 AM
I tried that idea. The events never fire.

Kenneth Hobs
02-03-2009, 01:42 PM
See http://www.ozgrid.com/forum/showthread.php?t=99046

nst1107
02-03-2009, 02:20 PM
I don't see any discussion of the _Enter() and _Exit() events. Another thing that puzzles me: some of the properties associated with textboxes aren't supplied in the popup list after I type, say, "mButtonGroup." Is there some loss of functionality when using class modules like this?

Kenneth Hobs
02-03-2009, 02:47 PM
The link that I referenced used the Change event. Apply like concepts for the other 2 events that you want to add.

Were you wanting to use one code for the Enter event for all textbox controls and another for the Exit event for all textbox controls or 2 separate codes for each event?

If you can explain what you want to happen for each event for which controls and supply a short example xls, we can help you a bit easier.

nst1107
02-03-2009, 04:59 PM