PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Newcomer Excel/Acces problem. Please share your thougths.

hunsnowboard
02-04-2009, 12:22 AM
Hi Everyone! I am very new to Ms Access forum as I just started learning Access. I have many postings on this site, and found many solutions here for my Excel macros which helped me a lot. :clap: I am very happy that this site exists, and plan to take the VBA training and certificate advertised by this site, this summer.

Now I have a more complex problem, actually first I would like to know your oppinions and thoughts on my problem.

I have a quite big excel file with a macro. Big excel file means more than 160.000 records (3 sheets) and this number is growing. So the macro looks for some data and manipulates them on each sheet and then comes with the results on the fourth sheet. My problem is the following: in the future many people will use this file and will search the macro (maybe in the same time) from different places. This probably will slow down very much the use of excel. And than I thought what if I would put all these data in an Access file. The problem here is that not every user will have Access on their local computer, furthermore very few people can use Access and they are reluctant to learn it. The excel file now is located on a shared drive (the situation would be the same with the access file). So here is what I thought (please share your toughts with me if it is possible):

1. User opens an empty excel file on his local computer and makes starts the macro
2. Excel opens the access or access file on the shared drive and starts the access macro which will search for the given code
3. Access transports the output of the search in the opened empty excel file.

Is this possible? If it works..I also have some additional questions like do I have to install Ms Access for this solution? On which machine?
Thank you in advance for your help!

CreganTur
02-04-2009, 06:13 AM