PDA

View Full Version : Copying using a loop

Simmo-81
02-08-2009, 01:34 AM
Hi all

Im after a little help on some vba code, im not brilliant with vba and im learning as i go on by viewing other peoples codes and figuring out how they work.

My problem:-

I have a master spreadsheet which will be used to update items from time to time. An example is a new supplier.

I then have 22 spreadsheets in a folder (not the same folder as the master spreadsheet but i could move the sheet there).

I want to be able to copy a range from the master spreadsheet to the 22 other spreadsheets by looping through them.

My range is "A1:A30" on the master spreadsheet and the sheet name is called data. The location on the 22 spreadsheets i want it to go to is "sheet2" range "d1:d30".

There is probably a simple way to do this but i cant seem to find a answer.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Bob Phillips
02-08-2009, 03:15 AM
What is the criteriua for copying to which spreadsheet?

What does the data look like?

Got an example?

p45cal
02-08-2009, 04:24 AM
Two solutions offered.
1. You want to be able to choose which files within a folder to update:Sub blah()
Dim MyFiles As Variant, i As Long
MyFiles = Application.GetOpenFilename(",*.xls", , "select the files you want to process", , True)
If TypeName(MyFiles) <> "Boolean" Then
For i = LBound(MyFiles) To UBound(MyFiles)
Set NextWB = Workbooks.Open(MyFiles(i))
ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Data").Range("A1:A30").Copy Destination:=NextWB.Sheets("Sheet2").Range("D1:D30")
'NextWB.Close Savechanges:=True
Next i
End If
Set NextWB = Nothing
End SubUse the standard Ctrl and/or Shift keys to multiselect the files.
2. You know for sure that it'll be the same files over and over:Sub blah2()
MyFiles = Array( _
"C:\Documents and Settings\Simmo81\My Documents\testfolder\Book1.xls", _
"C:\Documents and Settings\Simmo81\My Documents\testfolder\Booksdfgsdg4.xls", _
"C:\Documents and Settings\Simmo81\My Documents\testfolder\Booksdfgsdg3.xls", _