PDA

View Full Version : Find Record

Delta
02-09-2009, 10:39 AM
Hi All,

I am quite new to Visual Basic and was wondering if someone could help me out.

I have a User Form to input information onto an Excel spreadsheet. This interface should ultimately make processes more user-friendly.

I would like to have a Find Record command button that I could click on, enter the search criteria and the first record found will appear on the User Form.
Users should have the option to click on a Find Next button if the first found record is not what they are looking for.

Any advice is welcome, as I'm not sure where to start!

Thank you in advance.
Delta

lifeson
02-09-2009, 10:47 AM
How many criteria are you looking for?

Delta
02-09-2009, 10:50 AM
The criteria is user specific. For example, some users may want to search by forename, and some may want to search by surname, or both names. Another example, perhaps the only information someone has is the order number and they want to find out details about that order.

Thank you.

lifeson
02-09-2009, 10:57 AM
I assume order numbers would be unique but what if there are duplicate fore or surnames?

Delta
02-09-2009, 11:00 AM
If there are duplicate names, there should be an option to to find the next record until all have been found. At the end, there would have to be a message to say, "No more records found", or something similar.

mdmackillop
02-09-2009, 11:09 AM
I would suggest a combobox which would contain all available names to be searched, and a listbox to display all names found. You could add an option button to choose between forenames/surnames.

Delta
02-09-2009, 11:16 AM
I don't think I can use a ComboBox as it restricts what someone can search by.