PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Query Grouped by Day of Week

ibgreat
02-10-2009, 11:35 AM
I am trying to create a 3-Dimensional Chart (i.e. Bubbe) where my x-axis would be the day of the week, the y-axis would be time intervals and the data point would represent count.

The results would look something like:

5:00..0 0 0
5:30..0 0 0
6:00..0 2 1
6:30..0 1 0
etc
.......M T W etc

My table info is: tblBxData (BxDate, BxStartTime)

I am somewhat new to Access and not very familiar with the date/time functions. I believe nesting a GROUP BY statement would do this, but I am at a bit of a loss on how to define the time and date statements. I have looked around a bit and even posted elsewhere but haven't found anything similar. Any direction and resources to help me understand this are appreciated.

CreganTur
02-10-2009, 12:00 PM
Take a look at the CrossTab query. It's one of the options when you click New on the Queries object section of the database window. You can use it to create a query exactly like you're wanting.

OBP
02-10-2009, 12:04 PM
You can get the day of the week for the date using this in a new Column heading
day: Format([AppointmentDate],"ddd")
My example is using the Date field called "AppointmentDate" to do this.
The 3 dimesnional format can be achieved in 2 ways, the first is to use a Crosstab Query, which can be created using a Crosstab Query Wizard selected from the Query Tab's Menu "New".
The second method involves using a Pivot Table Form which can be selected from the Form tab's "New".

OBP
02-10-2009, 12:05 PM
Sorry Randy, I didn't see you post I was busy typing.

CreganTur
02-10-2009, 12:14 PM
Sorry Randy, I didn't see you post I was busy typing.

No worries; not like it's a compitition or anything. Plus it was a good idea to show him the Format function :thumb

ibgreat
02-10-2009, 12:16 PM
Thanks once again to both of you, I had started to play with pivot table/charts but, was having problems with grouping by the day of the week.