PDA

View Full Version : Rename multiple files (add datestamp)?

jp romano
02-26-2009, 01:45 PM
Hello,
Working on a project using both MS Excel, Outlook, and Access as seamlessly as possible. Problem is, I'm not a programmer. I understand the basics and have put together some code, but it's not particularly elegant.

Anyway, a part of my project will scan through an outlook folder looking for messages with an attachment. The attachments are .zip files which contain two excel files (which will be imported to a database). The zip files are placed out on a network drive and a date/timestamp added to the filename.

The problem is, the two excel files INSIDE the zipped file have names like
abcMMDDYY.xls. So, we can get 2-4 files with the same name every day.

Do any of you have any idea how I can sweep through the repository and add a date/timestamp to all of the files on the drive?

Thanks for any help! :banghead:

Kenneth Hobs
02-26-2009, 01:55 PM
Welcome to the forum!

That is a big project for your first post. What is the repository? Do you mean a folder? Going through a whole drive would take some time. Yes, we could rename and redate them but maybe this approach would be better. Save the new files with an added part. That way, all the files of the same type would be lumped together. The file dates would not matter.

The kb has an article that lets you save filenames given a base name. e.g. test.xls, test-1.xls, test-2.xls, etc. I submitted a kb article that saves fileslike test.xls, test (1).xls, test (2).xls, etc. I have not had time to resubmit it with the recommended changes since the forum moved to the new site. I have to redo the entry and submit it again.

BrianMH
02-26-2009, 02:08 PM