PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Referencing items in a drop down menu

dbhaley
03-04-2009, 07:35 AM
I'm very new to VBA (but not MS Office) and this forum so my apologies if this question is a bit sophmoric or if I am posting this in the wrong place.

I have 6 drop down menus and I would like for a different action to take place depending on the dropdown items that the user has selected. How do I reference the user's selections in my "if" statement? I have tried a couple of things and continue to get errors.

Also, does anyone have any examples of this type of code?

Thank you very much for all of your help. This website is such a great learning tool!

CreganTur
03-04-2009, 07:44 AM
If this is on a UserForm, then you can refer to an object's value very easily. First, you need to use the Me keyword- this refers to the current active form- it's a shortcut to referencing the form object.

When you type in "Me." you will get a selection box from Intellisense that shows you all of the objects on the form and the available methods and properties that you can control via VBA.

To reference your listrbox's value use:
Me.ListBoxName
Where ListBoxName is the actual name of the listbox object. This will automatically pull the value of the first column of the listbox. If you have multiple columns, or need the value from a specific column, then you will need to use the .columns method (see Help).

To use this as a part of your If conditionals, you can do something like:
If Me.ListBoxName > 10 Then
MsgBox "greater than 10"
ElseIf Me.ListBoxName < 9 Then
MsgBox "less than 9"
Else
MsgBox "value is eithre 9 or 10"
End If

HTH:thumb

dbhaley
03-04-2009, 07:53 AM
Randy,
Thanks for your help. I am getting the following error:

"Invalid use of Me keyword"

Here is my code:
Sub InsertLink()

If Me.LoanType = "Consumer" Then

Selection.GoTo What:=wdGoToBookmark, Name:="RequiredDocs"

Selection.Hyperlinks.Add Anchor:=Selection.Range, Address:= _