PDA

View Full Version : Copy from one cell and paste into next if empty

sunjan
03-06-2009, 04:16 AM
Hi all,

I'm a newbie, so apologies in advance.

I have a Word document that consists of several tables. The tables are either one or two cells wide. The left cell always contains text, but the right cell either contains text or is empty. I intend to prepare the document for a translation tool called Trados.

I'm trying to write a script to does the following (two operations):

Select the entire document
Apply the hidden text attribute to the selection
Apply no spellcheck to the selection

Select the content of the first cell in the first table
If there is an empty cell to the right, paste the selection into the right cell.
Apply unhidden text attribute to the right cell
Apply spellcheck to the right cell
If there is no empty cell to the right, just go to next cell
Repeat until the last cell

I hope the description makes sense?!
AFAIK, I should use these lines, but I need help to get everything together:

Selection.Font.Hidden = True
Selection.LanguageID = wdNoProofing
Selection.MoveRight Unit:=wdCell
If Selection.Next(wdCharacter, -1) = Chr(13) & Chr(7) Then Selection.Paste

Selection.Font.Hidden = False
Selection.LanguageID = wdProofing

Thanks a lot for any help!

/Jan

fumei
03-06-2009, 12:44 PM
Let me see if I have this correctly.

1. you want to hide EVERYTHING, the entire document

2. then test to see if the EACH cell in Column 1 of EACH table has text in SameRow/Column 2

3. if that cell in Column 2 is empty, then copy over the Hidden text of the cell in Column 1, into Column 2

4. UnHide that text (in cell column 2), and spell check it.

Correct?

sunjan
03-06-2009, 02:36 PM
Let me see if I have this correctly.

1. you want to hide EVERYTHING, the entire document

2. then test to see if the EACH cell in Column 1 of EACH table has text in SameRow/Column 2