PDA

View Full Version : Help with macro to copy and paste based on formula result

Phelony
03-10-2009, 03:24 AM
Hi

I'm pretty new to VBA although I've got (or so I thought) the majority of Excel mastered. I'm trying to build an intelligent form that basically does all the thinking for the user. :thumb

As part of this, I've built in sections that take names and then put them into a list, the list then gets counted and the result appears in a seperate cell.

From this cell with the result in is, say (C2), I need to build a macro that will then loop and copy a specific section of a sheet that number of times. :cool:

What I have so far is:

Do
Dim ibtRowCount
ActiveCell.Range("A1:N5").Select
Selection.Copy
ActiveCell.Offset(6, 0).Range("A1").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
ActiveCell.Select
Loop

End Sub

This however copies the selection an infinate number of times! :motz2:

I've tried working on the "Dim introwcount as integer" etc that's available from Microsoft Office's own forums, but don't seem to be able to get it to work properly. :bug:

Could someone possibly suggest how I can tell the code to: find out what is in C2, then loop the copy and paste code that number of times.

I've been on this for hours now and I'm triving myself insane :banghead: .

Any help or guidance would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks

Phelony

Bob Phillips
03-10-2009, 03:39 AM
Dim i As Long
For i = 1 To Range("C2").Value
With Range("A1")

.Resize(5, 14).Copy .Offset(i * 5 + 1, 0)
End With
Next i

Phelony
03-10-2009, 04:38 AM
Thanks for this Xld! :bow:

Still a small hurdle though, my code now looks like this:

Do
Dim ibtRowCount
Dim i As Long
For i = 1 To Range("R2").Value
With Range("A1")
ActiveCell.Range("A1:N5").Select
Selection.Copy
ActiveCell.Offset(6, 0).Range("A1").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
.Resize(5, 14).Copy .Offset(i * 5 + 1, 0)
End With
Next i
Loop

End Sub