PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Delete bookmark sentence if bookmark value left blank in userfrom

hunsnowboard
03-21-2009, 12:40 AM
Hi Everyone! I am very new to vba, just started learning, please try to help me if you can. My problem is the following:
I would like to make a userform in word which helps my collegues to process documents much faster. I have many bookmarks in the document, but there are cases when I cannot add any value to the bookmark (through the userform). In this cases I would like the sentence in which the bookmark is to be deleted. So if the bookmark has no value given in the userform (is left blank) then the sentence in which the bookmark is should not appear or it should be deleted from the document. Is it possible to do this? If not could you recommend a solution for this?
Thank you very much in advance and have a nice weekend!

hunsnowboard
03-22-2009, 12:21 AM
There is no one who can help? :(

lucas
03-22-2009, 06:13 AM
Hi hunsnowboard, I am no Word guru but I have been looking at this off and on for a couple of days. I came up with this which searches the doc for bookmarks and if its empty then it deletes the sentence. Let me know if this gets you started in the right direction.

Option Explicit
Sub delEmptyBkmksSentences()
Dim objBookmark As Bookmark
For Each objBookmark In ActiveDocument.Bookmarks()
If objBookmark.Range.Text = "" Then
objBookmark.Range.Select
Selection.Expand Unit:=wdSentence
Selection.Range.Delete
Selection.Range.Collapse wdCollapseEnd
End If
Next
End Sub

Maybe Gerry can show us how to avoid the selection. I couldn't figure out any other way to get a handle on the sentence while dealing with the bookmarks......

In the attachment, the two sentences in red font have empty bookmarks.

hunsnowboard
03-22-2009, 07:08 AM
Hi Lucas! Thank you very much for your help! I will take a look at your solution, but right now I am involved in another urgent project! Thank you for your reply, will try it! Thank you!

mdmackillop