dpm
03-22-2009, 06:44 AM
[I'm using Excel 2003]

I have a Range1 of non-contiguous cells. I would like to do one of two things:

1. Remove all cells from Range1 whose values are not duplicated

or...

2. Create a Range2 containing only cells whose values are duplicated in Range1

Is this possible?

I see tons of examples for dealing with duplicates in sheets, lists, tables...everything but ranges. I've been searching for days and it's very frustrating.

I'm working in the VBE. I'm an Access VBA developer and don't know the Excel object model very well. And I can do only the most basic things with formulas, in the UI. Trust me!

Thanks in advance for any help.

mdmackillop
03-22-2009, 06:52 AM
Welcome to VBAX
You'll need to define your range and set the Offset for Option 1

Sub dups()
Dim Rng As Range, cel As Range
Set Rng = Cells(1, 1).CurrentRegion
For Each cel In Rng
If Application.CountIf(Rng, cel) > 1 Then
'Option 1
cel.Offset(, 13) = cel
'or Option 2
Sheets(2).Range(cel.Address).Value = cel
End If
Next

End Sub

dpm
03-22-2009, 07:12 AM
Hello, and thanks very much for the welcome and for the prompt reply.

I have a range defined, in code. It contains a group of cells from two columns where a particular value exists in yet a third column. I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to do that in the UI, so I did it in the VBE.

Besides, once I figure this out, I've got to build a loop which does the same thing for every unique value in that 'third column'.

With that said, I did study your code. I've seen similar procedures and have tried a few. I always get an error when the CountIf function is called.

Usually it's a generic looking thing that says something like, "unable to apply CountIf". In this case, I get a type mismatch (when I pass my range into your sub and set rng equal to the passed-in range).

I figure it's because my range contains non-continguous cells.

mdmackillop
03-22-2009, 07:14 AM