PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Word: Find and add Comment Macro

mddenapoli
04-15-2009, 06:10 AM
Greetings,

I have been working as an technical editor and spend a lot of time adding comments to documents I recieve. I'm a bit of a novice and would like to know if there is a way to improve the macro or vbscript (below) I found this on the web but it is very slow and I dont know enough to improve upon it. Can anyone help?

Public Sub addComments()
Dim intCount As Integer
Dim strSearch As String
Dim strComment As String
Dim intDiff As Integer

strSearch = InputBox("Please enter the word to search for:", "Search")
strComment = InputBox("Please enter the comment you wish to add to all instances of [" & strSearch & "].", "Search")

For intCount = 1 To ActiveDocument.Words.Count
With ActiveDocument
If (LCase(Trim(.Words(intCount).Text)) = strSearch) Then
intDiff = Len(.Words(intCount).Text) - Len(Trim(.Words(intCount).Text))
'.Words(intCount).Font.Italic = True
.Comments.Add .Range(.Words(intCount).Start, (.Words(intCount).End - intDiff)), strComment

'Uncomment the lines below to add event handling while process is running
'If (intCount Mod 2) = 1 Then
' DoEvents
'End If
End If
End With
Next

End Sub

Public Sub remComments()
Dim intCount As Integer
For intCount = 1 To ActiveDocument.Comments.Count
ActiveDocument.Comments(1).Delete
Next
End Sub

Paul_Hossler
04-15-2009, 09:30 AM
Thanks for the idea. I think I can use that concept also

This is what I came up with, by modifying some code that others on VBX helped me with. It could probably be tightened up some, but .Find is something I'm still learning how to best use.

This seems to work OK on my test doc ... so far

Sub Add_Comments()
Dim strSearch As String
Dim strComment As String

Dim aDoc As Document
Dim AllRng As Range
Dim SrchRng As Range

strSearch = InputBox("Please enter the word to search for:", "Search: Leave blank to Exit")
If Trim(Len(strSearch)) = 0 Then Exit Sub