PDA

View Full Version : mail merge for each individual excel doc in a folder

salventuro
05-13-2009, 03:29 PM
Hi everyone,

Hope everyone is having a good day.

This is my first post here, I'm a noob, so be gentle. LOL

I am running Office 2003 Pro on XP Pro SP2.

I have been searching the web for a solution to a project I'm working on, to no avail. I don't know if it's even possible.

I have inserted the image of a form in a Word doc, I have mapped the fields to be merged from the data in excel spreadsheets.

Each of the spreadsheets are identical in layout, all data is in Sheet1, in each Excel workbook.

What I have done is, inserted six text fields in the Word document, that are mapped to Excel.

I can perform the mail merge manually. The issue is, I have over one thousand excel doc's to perform the merge on. Can a macro be used to loop through a folder, merge and propogate to a new Word doc for each excel doc?

This will create over one thousand word doc's, which will then be emailed to the corresponding employees.

Also, can the name of the new Word doc created, be saved as the corresponding name as the Excel doc?
Example, if the Excel doc is named 123abc.xls. can the new propogated Word doc be saved as 123abc.doc?

Any assistance or links anyone knows of, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and have a great day!

macropod
05-13-2009, 06:17 PM
Hi salventuro,

You've already asked this question in the microsoft.public.word.mailmerge.fields newsgroup - and been given some good information. You should at least have the courtesy to acknowledge that and, if the replies you got there don't meet your needs, you should say so - in the microsoft.public.word.mailmerge.fields newsgroup - and here.

salventuro
05-13-2009, 07:41 PM
Hi macropod,

Yes, I have posted the same question on wordbanter, Great site by the way. Point taken, I should have mentioned that.