PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Insert set parts in list

Meatball
05-19-2009, 07:22 AM
Let me first say Thank You to everybody in this forum for the great help they provide to all of us who are VBA Challenged. This is a great site.
Now, I have a project that I want to try to work out.
I start with a list of tools that a customer wants. In this list there may be several items that are tool Sets, socket sets, wrench sets, etc. I have a master list which has many sets already showing individual part numbers and descriptions. I want to make a macro that will look at the list from the customer, compare to my sets list, and when it finds a match, pull the list of individual parts and insert them into the customers list, moving eveything else down the appropriate number of rows.
I will probably have to make changes to my sets list depending on how the code is set up.
I expect this may take some time so I am looking for someone who is willing to basically work with me one on one and maybe spend a bit of time on this. I have not used Match in any of my projects, which I think will be needed here, so that will take a bit on my part to understand. There is no rush on this project. Before and after sheets are shown on the attached file.
So is there anyone out there who wants to take this on?

Bob Phillips
05-19-2009, 07:48 AM
Where is the sets data?

Aussiebear
05-19-2009, 07:54 AM
G'day Meatball, The workbook provided doesn't show any set lists, so it'll be an issue for anyone who wants to work on your project. Can you re post your workbook with the extra data please?

Meatball
05-19-2009, 08:03 AM
Sorry, I did not realize you would need to see that list. The actual list is some 15000 lines long so I copied a few of the sets including the 2 in my sample to a new sheet for this project.

Bob Phillips
05-19-2009, 08:11 AM
How do you know what items belong in the set, there is no common key to spot them with.

Aussiebear
05-19-2009, 08:16 AM