PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Word Automation help

let98007
05-28-2009, 12:13 PM
I am a Visual FoxPro programmer converting several dozen VFP reports to Microsoft Word templates. The templates will be used to produce documents entirely under automation control (the user won't see the documents until after they've been printed.) The automation code must work with all versions of Word from 2000 through 2007. Automation appears to be different enough from macros that my questions may not be appropriate here. Do you know of a forum that covers Word automation issues?

fumei
05-28-2009, 01:04 PM
Well this forum does. And Tek-Tips does.

"Automation appears to be different enough from macros that my questions may not be appropriate here."

I am not sure what you mean by that. There is no real distinction. Automation uses VBA. Macros use VBA.

You may have some difficulties make things work for all versions. There are significant differences in processes and objects in 2007, compared to 2000 to 2003.

I am also trying understand circumstances whereby the user "won't see the documents until after they've been printed". If they are so fully automated...why is the user involved at all?

fumei
05-28-2009, 01:12 PM
Perhaps if you state specific things you want assistance on we may be able to help/suggest things.

let98007
05-28-2009, 03:23 PM
The syntax for VFP OLE automation is similar to macro code until you reach a left paren, then you are on your own. Anything inside the parentheses must be converted and it's not always clear how to do that. Here are some tasks I've strugled with:

1) How do I apply bold to only the header (first row) of the table? The command that seems to apply bold in VFP is oTable.Range.Font.Bold = .t. but I can't figure out how to restrict the range to one row.
Update: I did figure out how to select the row and apply bold font (in just 4 hours of trying!) but now can't figure out how to "unselect" the text...