PDA

View Full Version : Solved: How to chk on duplicated cell values & show msg box

Rob342
06-11-2009, 06:57 AM
Hi All,

I have a sheet where a would like to chk the values on cells B28 to B39 too see if the values of any of the above cells are the same.
If the value of any of the cells are the same i would like a msg box to pop up and prompt the user to say " Data Duplicated do you want to continue" yes / no If the user answers yes then delete the cell value above.
eg ; the user enters 79BAA2 in cell B27 then in cell B29 enters the same value 79BAA2 then dlete the value in cell B28.

Hope this makes sense, beign a newbie i am still learning the art of VBA but don't know where to start with this one
Any help would be most appreciated.

Simon Lloyd
06-11-2009, 07:13 AM
Hi All,

I have a sheet where a would like to chk the values on cells B28 to B39 too see if the values of any of the above cells are the same.
If the value of any of the cells are the same i would like a msg box to pop up and prompt the user to say " Data Duplicated do you want to continue" yes / no If the user answers yes then delete the cell value above.
eg ; the user enters 79BAA2 in cell B27 then in cell B29 enters the same value 79BAA2 then dlete the value in cell B28.

Hope this makes sense, beign a newbie i am still learning the art of VBA but don't know where to start with this one
Any help would be most appreciated.Try this in the worksheet code module (right click your worksheet tab and choose view code)
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Dim Dups As Long
If Target.Cells.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
With Me.Range("B27:B38")
Dups = Application.WorksheetFunction.CountIf(Me.Range("B27:B38"), Target.Value)
If Dups > 1 Then
If MsgBox("Duplicate found continue?", vbYesNo, "Duplicate detected") = vbYes Then
Target.ClearContents
End If
End If
End With
End Sub

Kenneth Hobs
06-11-2009, 07:20 AM