PDA

View Full Version : Relist Column

akamax_power
06-29-2009, 03:46 PM
I have 2 columns. Column A is the working column, sometimes there are values entered and sometimes they're empty. I want to relist Column A in Column B as is updated but without the empty cells inbetween.

Thanks

lw22
06-29-2009, 05:08 PM
I'm no expert but it works for me if thats what you are looking for.

Sub MoveAtoB()
Dim LastRow As Long, RowB As Long, i As Long
LastRow = Range("A65536").End(xlUp).Row

RowB = 1

For i = 1 To LastRow
If Cells(i, 1).Value <> "" Then
Cells(RowB, 2).Value = "=A" & CStr(i)
'If you don't want the ColumnB to dynamically change with column A replace the above code with the code below
'Cells(RowB, 2).Value = Cells(i, 1).Value
RowB = RowB + 1
End If
Next i
End Sub

akamax_power
06-30-2009, 08:41 AM
Thanks, this works. I should have mentioned this but records can also be cleared in column A. With this code when it updates it leaves duplicates in column B. I guess I could just run a clearcontents for column B before the loop runs. Any suggestions?

lw22
06-30-2009, 03:48 PM
If I understand you correctly you only want 1 occurrence of a value in column in column b? This may not be the best approach but it may work. If it isn't what you are looking for explain a little more of what you want and maybe add a sample file. - second thought thats not completely working the way you want it to. I'll look at it later.

Sub MoveAtoB()
Dim LastRowA As Long, RowB As Long, i As Long

If Cells(1, 2).Value = "" Then
RowB = 1
Else
RowB = Range("B65536").End(xlUp).Row + 1
End If

For i = 1 To LastRow
If Range("B:B").Find(Cells(i, 1).Value) Is Nothing Then
'If you don't want the ColumnB to dynamically change with column A replace the above code with the code below
RowB = RowB + 1
End If
End If
Next i
End Sub

akamax_power
06-30-2009, 04:22 PM