View Full Version : Solved: Queries regarding MDE file
winxmun
07-02-2009, 08:14 AM
Just read about converting a MDB file to MDE file for "front-end user".
For example, converted the winxmun.mdb to winxmun.mde. User updated some data on to the winxmun.mde on 01 Jul. Then made changes to the Form, Report, Macro & Module of winxmun.mdb on 02 Jul. Converted the winxmun.mdb to winxmun.mde again on 02 Jul.
Question: will the data saved in winxmun.mde dated 01 Jul captured in winxmun.mde dated 02 Jul? :think:
Tks!:rotlaugh:
CreganTur
07-06-2009, 01:01 PM
This won't exactly answer your question... but it might help a little.
Personally, I don't use MDE files because it's easier for me to manually split my tables out form the rest of the database. I put a database with only the tables on a shared drive and distribute the front-end version that contains linked tables. When I do this, I make sure to use explicit filepath for the shared drive- using the server names instead of drive names.
When doing this, if you make a change to the front end all you have to do is distribute the new version to your users.
winxmun
07-07-2009, 07:27 AM
Hi CreganTur,
Currently, I am using mdb format but the performance is lousy & I cant stop front end user from changing the backup design. Understand that performance of MDE format is faster & front end user not able to change the backup design. Hence, thought of converting all my current MDB to MDE. However I was not sure how to transfer the data in the tables.
May be I can use your suggestion, ie store the tables in the main MDB file & link the tables to another file & convert it to MDE file. I will try whether it works...:think:
winxmun
07-08-2009, 02:16 AM
btw, is there any issue by converting a database tt is in Access 2002/2003 file format to MDE format? tks.
winxmun
07-30-2009, 05:42 PM
I was trying to safe the MDB file to MDE format but encounter error msg: "Microsoft Access was unable to create an MDE Database." :help
Attached the access file for help (I know is due to "Main" Form but dont know what is the exact cause of the error). :banghead:
hansup
07-30-2009, 09:18 PM
I was trying to safe the MDB file to MDE format but encounter error msg: "Microsoft Access was unable to create an MDE Database." :help
Attached the access file for help (I know is due to "Main" Form but dont know what is the exact cause of the error). :banghead: You can't create an MDE from a database with code modules which won't compile. Your form's Form_Open event refers to objects which don't exist in your database. I changed the Form_Open as follows:
Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)
DoCmd.Maximize
Me!LoanNoText.SetFocus
'If Forms!FmStartUp!Text5 = 1 Then
'CmdAddMaker.Enabled = False
'CmdAddChecker.Enabled = False
'End If
End Sub After making that change, and setting a reference to DAO, your database would compile and I can create an MDE from it.
Good luck,
Hans
winxmun
08-06-2009, 02:52 AM
Hi Hans,
Thanks, I tried on the sample file & it works well.
By the way, other than the above, is there any other possible reason that will cause the conversion failed. Coz my original file have a lot more module files. So tot of knowing all the possible hitcup my help before i try to convert the file.
hansup
08-06-2009, 10:20 AM
Hi, winxmun.
I haven't created many MDE databases. In my limited experience, the only failed attempts were when the VBA code wouldn't compile in the original MDB. I'm not aware of other possibilities which may prevent the conversion. That's not to say there aren't other obstacles, just that I don't know about them.
Good luck,
Hans
winxmun
08-07-2009, 07:51 AM
Hans,
No prob then, I shall try & see. Hopefully that's the only cause! : pray2: Thanks for your wish... :friends:
winxmun
08-13-2009, 11:42 PM
Hans,
Is there a quick way to check whether the objects is non-existence, thus VBA code unable to compile? Tks!
hansup
08-14-2009, 12:12 AM
You can compile the code manually, and that attempt will alert you to problems in your code.
Switch to the VB editing window with Alt+F11. Choose "Debug" from the menu, then "Compile ..." from the submenu. If the Compile choice is disabled, that means your code is already compiled.
You should use Option Explicit in the top section (general declarations) of all your modules to assist the compiler in finding code problems.
I wasn't really sure what you were asking. If I misunderstood your question, we can try again.
Good luck,
Hans
winxmun
08-14-2009, 02:52 AM
Hans,
Yup, you got my question right! :beerchug:
My database file is very huge size & was created & maintain by few ex-colleague. A lot of unwanted code was not deleted, hence I was not able to convert it to mde.
Hopefully after the cleanup I will be able to convert the mdb to mde. As a result, my user will not complaining that the performance of the Access is damn slow & "accidentaly" changed my design as well....
Wish me good luck....:bigdance2
hansup
08-14-2009, 07:50 AM
Hopefully after the cleanup I will be able to convert the mdb to mde. As a result, my user will not complaining that the performance of the Access is damn slow & "accidentaly" changed my design as well....Converting to MDE can improve performance, but the improvement may not be dramatic. Please let us know how this turned out for you. Sounds like you have a lot of cleanup work to do first. Get busy! :whip
Good luck,
Hans
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.