PDA

View Full Version : Use data in txt file in Case Select statement

fendrboard
07-15-2009, 08:04 PM
Hello Folks - Im a newb to this programming stuff so forgive me for my mistakes. I have a case select statement that reads a users network name and assigns "rights" based on what level i have given them. Currently i list all the cases in the case statement but as the userlist grows it is getting out of control. I was thinking i could put the users list in a text file and it could be opened and read for the brief amount of time to set the appropriate level. Or if there is a better way to do this it would be more appreciated!

This is the current way i have it setup. Id like to incorporate the body of the case statment into a text file.

Select Case wshnetwork.UserName
Case "user1"
UserEmail = user1@domain.com
Worksheets("SBR").Range("UserType").Value = "DomainAdmin"
Case "user2"
UserEmail = user2@domain.com
Worksheets("SBR").Range("UserType").Value = "Admin"
Case "user3"
UserEmail = user3@domain.com
Worksheets("SBR").Range("UserType").Value = "MIR"
etc...
End Select

Thank you

rbrhodes
07-15-2009, 09:53 PM
Hi fb,

I would put the data on a sheet in the Workbook and hide it with code. See the sub 'Admin' on how to really hide a sheet.

Then the code could call the data from the hidden sheet.

The hidden sheet could be updated only by someone with the password (which is stored on the hidden sheet).

- Insert a sheet and name it Admin.

On the Admin Sheet:

- Put the password in "D2"

- Usernames in A1 - A#

- Rights in B1 - B#

- Email address in C1 - C#

-Copy this code to a Module to hide/Unhide the Admin sheet

Option Explicit
Sub Admin()
Dim pword As String
Dim ws As Worksheet

'Put the Sheet name here
Set ws = Sheets("Admin")
With ws
If .Visible = True Then
.Visible = xlVeryHidden
Else
'Request password
pword = InputBox("Enter password.", "Admin password required")
'Password is on hidden sheet
If pword = .Range("D2") Then
.Visible = True
.Activate
End If
End If