PDA

View Full Version : File Details - Need correct syntax

bdsii
07-16-2009, 11:05 AM
I am trying to find a listing somewhere of the syntax for retrieving information on files in a folder. I am using Vista and there are many details that could be available and be used if I knew how to access them to pull in the data to an excel spreadsheet.

I have found a few examples below but would like a comprehensive listing. Since I am new to all this I am having difficulty even searching the web or on this forum for what I am looking for. :dunno

Can someone point me toward a listing of these ? Thanks for any help you can provide! :yes

Examples I have so far:
Fil.Name
Fil.DateLastAccessed
Fil.DateLastModified
Fil.DateCreated
Fil.Type
Fil.Size

Bob Phillips
07-16-2009, 11:28 AM
Look for

builtindocumentproperties

in VBA help

bdsii
07-16-2009, 12:10 PM
Thanks....I found the list but it does not appear I can use the names listed exactly in the fil.* statement. For example, I don't think I can use the "fil.Creation Date" in my code. Is there a way to know the proper syntax for using those names listed ?

Also, I noticed there are a lot of details available to view in the folders not listed. Is that because you are not able to include them in the fil.* format to retrieve the data ? Below are a few details showing in the folder that are not listed. Are they examples of details that you cannot use in the "fil. " statement?
Owner
Copyrite
Keywords
Bitrate
Protected
Genre

Any help is appreciated!

Bob Phillips
07-16-2009, 12:48 PM
What is fil?

bdsii
07-16-2009, 01:00 PM