PDA

View Full Version : Search box within data entry form

DangerDano
07-23-2009, 11:43 AM
Hello everyone! I'm a VBA newbie trying to design a simple data entry form for Excel, and thus far I've managed to tweak out examples of code to accomplish various tasks. However, I have yet to find a thread that addresses this specific problem, so hopefully someone can help me out.

I have a worksheet with several thousand entries, and the user needs to be able to search for an individual record and update information via the form. Ideally, I would like to create a "Search" button on the form that opens a new window where the user can enter either a single or multiple search criteria. The worksheet contains one column that acts as a unique identifier for each record, so in most cases only a single search criteria is necessary. However, several records may have a blank value in this column for one reason or another so the user would need the option of entering additional criteria to locate the desired information. There are two additional columns that can act as a unique identifier when they are combined, and I would like for the user to be able to also search for records based on these two values.

I have attached a sample worksheet to show the layout of the data and the code I've written so far.
Single Search Criteria = "Doc No" column
Multiple Search Criteria "Vol + Page" columns.

Thanks in advance for your help!

:helpDano:help

mumin_abdul
07-23-2009, 12:41 PM
Instead of using programming via VBA - try looking into using PivotTables. Look it up on help - its easier and less messier and looks better than a form.

But if you still want to use a form I'll try to help you.

mumin_abdul
07-23-2009, 12:44 PM
Highlight all the data in the sheet. Then Insert > PivotTable

Then select the data you want to see in the PivotTable Field List on the right pane.

Mess around with it to see how it works.

DangerDano
07-23-2009, 01:07 PM