PDA

View Full Version : Need to compare 2 very large worksheets

Kicker
07-23-2009, 05:10 PM
We use SAP at work. In order to generate some of our reports, we export some very large List Edits to Excel Spreadsheets and then link them into MS Access. Every day we export about 30,000 records.

On a day to day basis, I need to know "what" has changed from one day to the next. In reality, I am now looping through the Work Order column of one and then trying to find it in the Work Order of the other.

Is there a way of "comparing" one worksheet to another and then marking the cells that are different?

I am just getting started on this project and will be adding more ideas and questions to the Access page.

Paul_Hossler
07-23-2009, 07:33 PM
Got an example workbook with 100-200 samples?

Paul

Kicker
07-23-2009, 08:09 PM
Here is a quick mock up. In reality, there are over 20,000 rows and more than 30 columns for each file. Ignoring all other items, I need to determine.

1. are there any records in Sheet 1 that are not in Sheet 2?
2. are there any records in Sheet 2 that are not in Sheet 1?
3. Are any of the records different. For example if Col C has changes, I need to know about it.

Thanks.

rbrhodes
07-23-2009, 09:43 PM
Hi K,

Can you post the code you're using? Maybe we can speed it up!

Champers
07-24-2009, 02:45 AM
I am not sure if this helps, however this was passed to me and works quite well.

You may be able to use it.

Sub Compare()
Dim rCell As Range
Dim rRng As Range
Dim wksRetain As Worksheet
Dim wksToCheck As Worksheet
Const WKS_ORIG As String = "Sheet1" '<---Change names to suit
Const WKS_COPY As String = "Sheet2"

Set rRng = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets(WKS_ORIG).Range("A1:Z100") 'this can be any range you need

With ThisWorkbook.Worksheets(WKS_COPY)

For Each rCell In rRng

If Not rCell.Value = .Range(rCell.Address).Value _
And Not .Range(rCell.Address).Value = vbNullString Then