PDA

View Full Version : Switch to a specific open application

spphat
07-30-2009, 07:38 PM
Hi - I'm fairly new to VBA, and I've been programming in Excel 2000. Its pretty much finished, but I keep adding little bits and pieces here and there. What I want to do now is open an already opened application, BUT, there are multiple applications (up to 6) that are also open, so AppActivate would not work because I need to open up one of the specific 6, not just any one of them.

Some background about the project: Theres a spreadsheet with client information, and I use this spreadsheet to check for additional information in above mentioned application, call it XYZ. XYZ takes awhile to bring back results, so I typically open up 5 or 6 XYZ applications. I need to "tag" the specific XYZ app so I know which spreadsheet goes with which XYZ.

This might be a little confusing, so I basically just need a way to access/activate a specific application out of a group of many. Thanks for any help that might be provided.

Benzadeus
07-31-2009, 07:39 AM
Usually, when an application opens a file, it displays in the title the name of the opened file.

Assuming this AND you open up to 6 different files, you could use:

Sub ActivateSpecificWindow()

AppActivate "XYZ - File1"
'do actions

AppActivate "XYZ - File2"
'do actions

AppActivate "XYZ - File3"
'do actions

AppActivate "XYZ - File4"
'do actions

End Sub

spphat
07-31-2009, 08:19 AM
Hi Benzadeus - Thanks for your reply. The thing with the app though is that the names aren't like that. Each app is individually called "XYZ", so I cannot reference the specific one by AppActivate. Thanks for the help though!

Benzadeus
07-31-2009, 10:23 AM
Well, just two questions...

1 - The XYZ Apps are created in the macro as objects or do you first open the Apps and after that you run the macro?

2 - Do you use SendKeys method in your code?

spphat
07-31-2009, 10:56 AM