PDA

View Full Version : Solved: find same value in two different lists and copy cells in new sheet

Andrea C
08-04-2009, 01:56 PM
Hi, I apologize in advance if this question has already been posted. I have searched but it is possible that I missed it.
I am completely new to VBA and Macros, and not a expert in Excel, so this is a huge problem for me. Here's what I am trying to accomplish.
I have data that is refreshed from two queries, creating two different lists, which contain some of the same criteria, and some different ones.
So on the sheet "Pulled Data" I have my list 1 from columns A to N.
And my list 2 from columns P to Y.
Since these are from queries, the number of rows changes evberytime the queries are updated.
I want to look through column J and column P, and if any of the values in column P are equal to the one in column J, Row 1, then copy A-N of row 1 in a sheet named "Run" and copy the row for which the value matches from P to Y below in the sheet "Run", then I would like fo rit to check for the value in Column J, Row 2 & Do the same thing, etc... Until it checks all of the rows with values in column J.

Please let me know if this makes sense or if you need more information.

Thanks in advance for your time & help.
Regards, Andrea.

GTO
08-05-2009, 12:41 AM
Greetings Andrea,

Welcome to to the forum :) and a Howdy from Arizona. You have picked a mighty "Cool" forum to join, and I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

In a Standard Module:

Option Explicit

Sub FindMatches()
Dim _
wksSource As Worksheet, _
wksDest As Worksheet, _
rngLRColJ As Range, _
rngLRColP As Range, _
rngColJ As Range, _
rngColP As Range, _
rngDestFRow As Range, _
rCell As Range, _
rngFind As Range, _
lDestFRow As Long

'// Set a reference to both sheets; change the names in the quotes as neeeded. //
Set wksSource = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Pulled Data")
Set wksDest = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Run")

'// With "Pulled Data" sheet//
With wksSource