PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Need Help with the Logic of my Program

Saladsamurai
08-09-2009, 04:10 PM
Hey there :hi: First Post I am new to VBA and programming in General (I am an engineer).

Here is what I am trying to do. I have a MathML file saved as a .txt file. It is similar to XML.

From the ML file, we have a bunch of text that looks something like:

<mname>Salad</mname><mrow>xyz</mrow>

I would ultimately like to have an array whose elements are the substrings:

Array(1) = <mname>
Array(2) = Salad
Array(3) = </mname>

So far what I have done is this

Load the entire text file into one continuous string.

I have then fed the string into an array called ElementaryArray such that each individual character of the giant string is an element of the array.

Now I would like to sweep through the array, element by element, and determine the start and end positions of each substring.

If it were simply a bunch of substrings like <mmm><mmm><rrr><rrr><ooo><ooo> it would be easy enough. I could simply find the first "<" and then find its corresponding closing ">" and then restart the loop at the ">" position.

The problem is that not all of the strings start and end with the "<" & ">" characters.

I need a way to determine if the character after a ">" is another "<" or not. And then if it is not another "<" I must mark that character's position and then find the next occurrence of "<" which will be the end position (+1) of the substring that does not start with a "<".

Does that all make sense. The tricky part is relating the two different cases via the counter such that I do not get any overlap.

Any ideas?

Also open to any suggestions for alternative approaches.

Thank you.

macropod
08-09-2009, 04:48 PM
Hi Saladsamurai,

With your string held in a varaible named 'StrTxt', you can split it into its various elements via code like:
Sub Demo()
Dim StrTxt As String, i As Long, ArStr()
StrTxt = "<mname>Salad</mname><mrow>xyz</mrow>"