PDA

View Full Version : Required fields, validate on save

enuf2b
09-15-2009, 02:07 PM
Hi,
I am very new to vba, and don't know enough to even try this: here is the goal. In a multi-sheet/tab Excel workbook template, where each sheet requires information to be entered in pre-defined column fields, some with pull-downs, some not. T; so the first requirement is making cells required so they aren't left blank [incomplete] (this is server info, so must include server name, IPs VLANS, ports, environment, apps, etc.) the tricky part is I can't pre-define a range of required cells beacuse it will differ i.e. some projects will have 20 servers, others 200. So I need it to have some sort of if...then..type parameter if the Server Name field (1st field) is entered, then everything right of that on that row must be completed.
Then, as each worksheet is "saved" it validates that there are no missing data fields. A great thing would be to tell the user what they missed! or color-code it. The worksheet is then passed to the next group, who completes their worksheet tab, same requirements as above (required fields, validate on save) pass it on, etc.

Can it be done? How hard is this?:dunno

Bob Phillips
09-16-2009, 01:11 AM
It is pretty straight-forward. You would use the BeforeSave workbook event to check all of the fields, and add colour where appropriate, not saving if any incompletes.

Something like

Private Sub Workbook_BeforeSave(ByVal SaveAsUI As Boolean, Cancel As Boolean)
Dim LastRow As Long
Dim vecColours As Variant
Dim fErrors As Boolean
Dim i As Long
Dim j As Long

veColours = Array(xlColorIndexNone, 25, 28, 39, 40, 37) 'different colours for different columns
With Me.Worksheets("Master")

'handle dynamic number of projects
LastRow = .Cells(.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row 'column A is server name
For i = 2 To LastRow

'clear it down first
.Range("A2").Resize(LastRow, 5).Interior.ColorIndex = xlcolorindexnon

'assume 5 columns of data
For j = 2 To 5