PDA

View Full Version : Checking for empty fields

Jarlisle
09-26-2009, 06:31 PM
I am very new to access and using vb in access and here's my problem. I don't even know where to start.

I have a database that is going to be used for doing surveys. What I would like done is when a user is done making entries they will click a submit button to copy the answers to the table, but I would like the vb code to check to see if any of the answers were left blank and give them the option to leave it blank or go fill it in.

Also do you know how to make it so that the user only sees the form and doesn't have access to the tables.

The site won't let me post the Access file so I hope that won't impede the help that you can provide.

My table fields are: ID Number, Question 1, Question 2, Question 3, Pleased, Grateful, Indebted, Softhearted, Tender, Happy, Resentful, Mad, Annoyed, Warm, Hurt, Moved, Obligated, Empathetic, Compassion, Upset, Sympathetic, Angry.

OBP
09-27-2009, 04:35 AM
The first point that I would like to make is that Access will automatically Save the data to the Table as it is entered or edited, so the Submit button is not actually necessary.
You can use some simple VBA code in the Form's "Before Update" event procedure to inform the user that there is one or more Blank fields with a Yes/No message box asking them if they want to enter the data. However if they go back and enter data in a field and there is still a blank field they will be asked again and this can get a bit wearing.
The other point is from the design of your table it looks like the "Pleased, Grateful, Indebted, Softhearted, Tender, Happy, Resentful, Mad, Annoyed, Warm, Hurt, Moved, Obligated, Empathetic, Compassion, Upset, Sympathetic, Angry" are mutually exclusive, i.e. only one will be ticked, so that may prompt the VBA code to ask the question as well.
If those field responses are mutually exclusive it may be better to have those choices as an Option Group.

Jarlisle
09-27-2009, 09:51 AM