PDA

View Full Version : Late-binding --pls sort out the confusion

energizek
10-15-2009, 01:50 PM
I have developed a sampling application in Excel 2007 that uses a lot of VBA automation. When I developed the program I was unaware of the early/late binding issues and mistakenly did everything in early binding. Now I need to convert the code to late binding so that it can run on Office 2000 and 2003 platforms. I understand the concept of late binding and the need to declare objects; however I can't find any step-by-step explanation for actually re-coding the program. I am a self-taught programmer and everything I've found assumes a lot of knowledge.
I would greatly appreciate answers to the following basic questions:
1) How do I know which parts of my code are objects that needs to be put in the form:
Dim Var1 as Object
Set Var1 = createObject (.....)
For example I have the following piece of code:
Dim FrmCtrl as MSForms.Control -does this type of code need to be recoded?
2) Does it make a difference if all of the late binding occurs within an excel application that is already open and running (i.e. I don't need to call up other Office applications or export the code somewhere)?
3) Are all of the enumeration variables that will need to be replaced with constants identified with an "xl" preceding their name? As in "xldown". In other words, if I find and replace all of these variables with the appropriate constant will I have taken care of this issue?
4) Should I be concerned about all of the userforms, command buttons and activeX controls that are being used in my application? Will these be able to work in Office 200 & 2003?
5) Do I need to change the automation aspects such as: workbook_open, commandbutton1_click, worksheet_activate, etc...? I used these automations heavily in my coding and am now concerned that this may have impeded the compatibility of my program.