PDA

View Full Version : Selecting a sheet within a workbook by using a macro

Ronmac
10-16-2009, 05:47 AM
Hi,

I am a beginner at VBA and am completely stuck.

I have a workbook with 20 sheets - named by department - all of which contain the same four columns (date, item, quantity, cost).

I have created a userform which has five text boxes...
Dept
Date
Item
Quantity
Cost

...to which I've attached a macro which takes data from the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th boxes and places it in the appropriate column on either worksheet. However, I cannot find a way to have the macro take the data from the 1st box ("dept") and select the appropriate sheet.

I imagine it is simply a case of an If...Then statement (If user types "accounts", then open that worksheet) but can't find a way of doing it.

To make it clear, this is what I would like to happen:

Users selects Dept by typing it in a textbox on the userform
Macro opens that particular worksheet
User inputs data
Info is placed in the correct columnI would very much appreciate any advice that would enable me to solve this problem. Please offer a sample code if you can.

Many thanks,

Ronmac

mdmackillop
10-16-2009, 07:17 AM
Welcome to VBAX
You want something like

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
Dim rw as long
With Sheets("textbox1")
rw = .Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row + 1
.Cells(rw, 1) = TextBox2
.Cells(rw, 2) = TextBox3
.Cells(rw, 3) = TextBox4
End With
End Sub

Ronmac
10-30-2009, 04:07 AM
Hi MD,

Many thanks for your suggested code. I tried several ways to get it to run but without success (my knowledge is very basic). So I reverted to a very simple If...Then statement - but that doesn't work either.

Could you tell me what's wrong with this code:

dim textbox1 as string

If textbox1 = home Then
worksheets("house").Activate
else
If textbox1 = garden Then
worksheets("garden").Active
end If