PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Loging invoices/quotes

GYMMIC
04-26-2005, 10:31 AM
I am looking for a way to log every invoice/quote that is issued using excel. Currently we write the quote using a standard invoice template. we then take that information and manually input it into another work book that is kept as a log. I am looking for a way to automatically do this instead of having to manually enter the information, and would like for every entry to create a new line in the log worksheet.

I have limited coding experience, but I a willing to learn. Thanks!:think:

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Ken Puls
04-26-2005, 10:48 AM
Hi GYMMIC, and welcome to VBAX!

Are you just wanting to keep number sequence? mdmackillop put together a KB entry for logging those: Autonumber invoices in a shared environment

If not, why don't you start by recording a macro. Do everything you normally would to manually copy it to the new book, then post the code here. We can modify it to make it more dynamic for you, and streamline the code. a

GYMMIC
04-26-2005, 11:06 AM
OK..I saw the thread you suggested, that will enable me to generate a new transaction number everytime the file is opened. I know I will have to make a few changes because this file is not shared. Every User keeps their own quote log. I just had an Idea, but back to that later. (can each user that accesses this file be uniquely identified?)

Back to the log. I physically type in the name of the customer the time the request was received, and then the time that the request was sent back to the customer.
If the request is sent out to a suplier as a custom request, Our suplier will respond using a quote number they assign to our quote. We then input this number in our quote log so that we may keep record of it. Extra info I know. I appologize, I just want to make sure we are all on the same page. =)