PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Dropdown FormField Inserting Files

petedw
04-28-2005, 03:54 AM
Hi, hope you can help! Im a bit new to this

I have created a form on word using Dropdown and Text Formfields. I have the following macro running on exit in a Dropdown Formfield (Dropdown1). How can i get it to insert the text from the file in a Text Formfield (Text1) instead of at the end of the document??

Sub DropSelection()
Dim myrange As Range
ActiveDocument.Unprotect
Set myrange = ActiveDocument.Range
myrange.Collapse wdCollapseEnd
myrange.InsertFile "C:\Documents and Settings\pwilliams\My Documents\" & _
ActiveDocument.FormFields("DropDown1").DropDown.Value & ".doc"
ActiveDocument.Protect wdAllowOnlyFormFields, NoReset
End Sub

Many Thanks
Pete

TButhe
04-28-2005, 07:51 AM
Hi,

Check out this thread, if I am understanding you correctly this may help. http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1996

If this isn't what you need just post back I KNOW someone here can help. They always manage to sort out my messes!!

Have a great day!! Tracy

petedw
04-28-2005, 08:13 AM
This only seems to tell me how to insert text from within the same document.

I need to know how to insert text from another word document into my current word document. I need this text to drop into a text formfield. Also i need it to be activated by a Dropdown formfield.

I hope someone can help!

newk
04-28-2005, 08:19 AM
Hi Pete,

How are you fairing up? It's a nightmare when you get stuck!

Please could you attach an copy of your document and I'll try and help.

Kieran

Killian
04-28-2005, 08:28 AM
Hi Pete,

You use the "InsertFile" method with "myrange". Previously, you set myrange to the end of the documentSet myrange = ActiveDocument.Range
myrange.Collapse wdCollapseEndso what you need to do instead is set myrange to the range of your target instead (the text formfield)'where "Text1" is the name of your text form field
Set myRange = ActiveDocument.FormFields("Text1").Range