PDA

View Full Version : Restoring cursor/insertion point position

asifbaig
02-04-2010, 07:10 AM
I'm a bit new to VBA. I've desgined a couple of macros that do text manipulation and that has the insertion point flying all over the document. And after the macro, I have to relocate it. That is not a problem with small documents but on long book reports or manuals, this can be fairly annoying.

I've been trying to find a solution by storing the insertion point location in a variable, performing the rest of macro then recalling it. Unfortunately, theory is as far as I have gotten. Playing around with range and selection methods didn't yield the desired results so I'm definitely not doing something right.

Can someone please tell me how to save the insertion point location into a variable (or maybe object?) and then restore it later?

(I searched the forum for something like this but came up empty so apologies if this has already been answered before.)

lucas
02-04-2010, 07:19 AM
Insert a bookmark. From an example provided by Gerry(fumie)

http://www.vbaexpress.com/kb/getarticle.php?kb_id=63

asifbaig
02-04-2010, 08:05 AM
Thank you. Looking at this example, I realize I probably wouldn't have been able to figure it out on my own even if I had all night. :-) Never even thought of using bookmarks.

fumei
02-04-2010, 10:28 AM
"I've desgined a couple of macros that do text manipulation and that has the insertion point flying all over the document."

I would also like to point that most likely you can do anything you are doing now without the insertion point flying all over the document.

If it is, then you are using Selection. In 99% of cases, using Selection is both not needed and a inefficient use of resources. In 99% of cases, using Range (rather than Selection) is faster, and does not do anything on-screen.

macropod
02-04-2010, 05:13 PM
Hi Gerry,