PDA

View Full Version : Solved: AutoNew FileName Update

TripleT
05-04-2005, 04:46 PM
Hi

I'm not very good at VBA, but I do try to give it my best shot.

What I'd like to do is update the filename field, which is contained within the first page footer. I've tried to contain the field within a bookmark in the hope that the update could be easier, unfortunately that also proved to be problematic, and I shouldn't use bookmarks (for some reason they conflict with other templates???).

I have the code below, which does what I want, however the screen "flickers" as it flips between the view panes.

Sub AutoNew()
ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("FileName").Select
Selection.Fields.Update

ActiveWindow.ActivePane.Close

With ActiveWindow.View
.Type = wdPrintView
End With
End Sub

Is there any way that I can update this field cleanly so people using the template don't really know what's going on?

Cheers, Triple T

Killian
05-04-2005, 05:13 PM
Hi and welcome to VBAX :hi:

unless it causes some other issue, you might just find it easier to update all the fields and not bother with the bookmark.
Also you can turn screenupdating off to minimize the flicker Application.ScreenUpdating = False
ActiveDocument.Fields.Update
'do some other stuff?
Application.ScreenUpdating = True

TripleT
05-04-2005, 05:19 PM
Hi - Thanks for the quick reply :)

My original code updated all fields

Sub oldAutoNew()
Dim aStory As Range
Dim aField As Field
For Each aStory In ActiveDocument.StoryRanges
For Each aField In aStory.Fields
aField.Update
Next aField
Next aStory
End Sub

But this caused problems for a lot of people because they didn't want certain fields updated. So that's why I just need the filename field updated *sigh*

I think I might have found something that works okay:

Sub AutoNew()
'http://www.visualbasicforum.com/showthread.php?p=718255#post718255
Dim Story As Variant
Dim rngNext As Word.Range

' Iterate through all story types
For Each Story In ActiveDocument.StoryRanges