PDA

View Full Version : Help! Access won't close - have to end task

brian.naille
03-01-2010, 08:42 AM
Hi all,

I am a newbie to this forum and am hoping any of you can help. I have a MS Access 2003 mdb which is giving me fits. The issue I am getting is that when you try to close the db, it will exit the database but NOT MS Access. You are left with an Access empty window which will not exit and has to be end tasked.

I've looked at a bunch of forums and found suggestions about objects that need to be closed before closing the db. I tried that to no avail - I wrote a function that cycles through and closes all objects (forms, modules, workspaces, databases, recordsets, etc.). The first time I tracked this error down, I finally found the problem to be with a certain global variable. Once it got assigned, the app wouldn't close. So, I wrote a work-around and voila! But, now it's back again.

I have now added a section that nullifies all of my global variables (actually they are "public" not "global") but it doesn't seem to help either.

Is there any way I can figure out what resource is hanging on and keeping Access from properly closing? I don't think you can trigger an end task from VBA but it's sure tempting since my head is getting sore from banging against my desk. ANY suggestions would be appreciated (aside from quitting my job and taking up crochet).

Thanks!

OTWarrior
03-02-2010, 03:03 AM
What code are you using to close Access? is it not just?

Quit

if you are using

Me.Close
or
[Close]

Then these will only close the (active) form.

Can you show us how you are trying this?

brian.naille
03-02-2010, 07:37 AM
Hi, thanks for your response.

I have a form that stays open the entire time the database is open. When the form is closed, I want to close the app. In the Form_Close sub I have:

GlobalModules.CloseObjects
Application.Quit acQuitSaveAll