PDA

View Full Version : Word 2002 macro help

ZooMomology
03-10-2010, 09:32 AM
Hi. I am super brand new to VBA coding and I wish I understood any of it, but I don't. I have been researching how to do this forever, but I never find exactly what I need or want. I am an editor and as part of my job I need to provide feedback showing changes I made. In the past, before I learned about macros, I would download a job off of a software platform that uses Microsoft word, and before I make a single change, I would copy the entire document into a blank word document, save that file as "pre." Then, I would edit the document and before I upload it, I copy the entire document again into a new document called "post" and then merge "pre" with "post" and name that as a file name that comes from properties. This is so time consuming and cutting and pasting is something I don't like doing because I am always afraid I would make a mistake and paste the wrong text in the work I am uploading.

I am using word 2002 and my computer has Windows XP Home on it.

So, I want to write a macro to do this for me automatically. I am able to make part of it work, but I get stuck on the merge part.

I had done it with 3 macros actually. The 1st one copies, opens new document, pastes and saves as "pre." The 2nd one copies, opens new document, pastes and saves as "post." Is there a more automated way to do this?

I need help with the one that will take the "pre" and merge and compare it with the "post" and then name the merge and compare document as file name and location. The file name comes form the properties and is called "DictationName."