PDA

View Full Version : VBA to copy/paste etc..

reformatted
03-12-2010, 07:07 AM
I'm trying to sort something out in excel which will involve VBA, problem is I don't have the first clue what I'm doing.

I've browsed loads of forums similar to this and I've probably seen the code that would help me out, but I've never used VBA before so it either goes straight over my head, or I have no idea how to relate it to the spreadsheet I'm actually looking at.

Bottom line is, I'm a beginner, I know I am, so please don't make an issue of it, but I'm hoping somebody can explain in simple terms what I need to do (simply pasting a load of code isn't going to help).:dunno

Assuming you're still reading, what I'm trying to do is this:

I have a spreadsheet, say 7 columns. Column A is a freetext identifier field; the other 6 have Vlookup formulae to return data in other sheets. Given that the data in the other sheets changes constantly, I need to keep a record of the data as it is when the identifier (a 7 digit number) is actually entered. Otherwise as the data in the other sheets changes I'll just end up with #N/A across the board.

What I want to do is this:

Have a macro to:

-When the doc is saved...
*Select all non-blank cells,
*copy info in non-blank cells
*past special as values

-which I would hope will leave a load of values, retaining the formulae down the remaining rows of the sheet.

However I'm anticipating that a cell with a formula in is counted as a non-blank cell?

In that case I would like to:

*Select all cells in sheet 1
*copy info in cells in sheet 1
*past special as values in sheet 1
*copy the info on range $B$1:$G$1 in sheet 2 (I would keep a copy of the formulae in sheet 1 here, in this range simply to copy from)
*paste this info from sheet 2 into the first blank row in sheet 1.
*copy this info down, say 100 rows.

I'm hoping, if somebody is feeling uber-charitable, they would be able to help me out with some VBA code to do one or both of these options.